You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn – Book Review

Aaaand welcome to our first review of 2019! (Yes, I realize we’re 4 months in. I’ll try to do better at this blogging thing, I promise.)

Today I’ll be talking about a brand-new YA book from a debut author – You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn.

You'd Be Mine - Erin Hahn

Annie Mathers is America’s sweetheart and heir to a country music legacy full of all the things her Gran warned her about. Superstar Clay Coolidge is most definitely going to end up one of those things.

But unfortunately for Clay, if he can’t convince Annie to join his summer tour, his music label is going to drop him. That’s what happens when your bad boy image turns into bad boy reality. Annie has been avoiding the spotlight after her parents’ tragic death, except on her skyrocketing YouTube channel. Clay’s label wants to land Annie, and Clay has to make it happen.

Swayed by Clay’s undeniable charm and good looks, Annie and her band agree to join the tour. From the start fans want them to be more than just tour mates, and Annie and Clay can’t help but wonder if the fans are right. But if there’s one part of fame Annie wants nothing to do with, it’s a high-profile relationship. She had a front row seat to her parents’ volatile marriage and isn’t interested in repeating history. If only she could convince her heart that Clay, with his painful past and head over heels inducing tenor, isn’t worth the risk.

This book was one of my most highly anticipated YA novels of 2019, so did it meet my expectations? Find out below the cut (SPOILERS abound)!

I was ever-so-graciously granted an ARC from Wednesday Books through my day job, so I dove in as soon as I could.

By page 2 I was hooked:

IMG_20190403_085953.jpg

This book checked all of my ‘swoony YA romance’ boxes: famous people falling in love (like seriously, there aren’t nearly enough of these to satisfy my craving), angst coming out the wazoo (TW for suicide, alcohol & drug abuse), country music (I NEED THOSE ORIGINAL LYRICS SET TO MUSIC ASAP SO IT CAN WIN ALL THE ACM & CMA AWARDS, PLEASE AND THANK YOU), and mega chemistry between the two leads (plus an adorably cute side pairing!). I binge-read it in less than a day and immediately pre-ordered a final copy.

The writing was beautiful – I really connected with Annie and Clay and felt like this was their story. There was real and raw emotion from and between both characters, and it definitely felt like it could be a true country love story.  (I totally got Johnny & June vibes!)

I know it’s only April, but this is DEFINITELY my top book of 2019 thus far.

FINAL RATING: 5 ‘Coattail-draggin’ Sporks

PS: …Is it 2020 yet so I can get Erin’s 2nd book?

Author: thesporkreview

Lover of books, movies, music, and all things sporktastic.

One thought on “You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn – Book Review”

Leave a comment